Home Again

I have such great respect for activists who do this all the time.   Leave home, sleep in strange beds, spend their days talking and talking and talking.   Networking, doing the work.  I want to do the work but I am so reluctant to leave my little homestead to do it.   I know how important it is to go and meet in person with other people trying to change the world but I just wish they would all come here.   Maybe I can figure out the Helen and Scott Nearing approach and get like-minded folks to make the pilgrimage to my little corner of the universe.   Maybe not.

But most importantly when I got home all of my baby chicks were thriving.   My non-farmer son who had been tending them for me said they had been eating like miniature vultures.   He had a hard time keeping their food troughs full.   How lucky am I to have this wonderful support system?   Very!

So home again, home again, riggety jig.   Back to the center of my universe and to a part of my life that is grounding and positive and, most importantly, here.    Oh, and my neighbor took care of the overly brazen fox who had eaten all my adult chickens and was starting in on his, in spite of his five dogs.

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Heading out to the New England Food Solutions Food Summit this weekend, aware that I will only be one of a very small percentage at the table who are career farmers, whose livelihood, and serenity, depends on the outcome. To leave, there are the usual farm chores and animal care, with no backup here at the farm, will need to be hired and trained. There are direct costs of getting and staying there, and indirect costs of giving up two farmers markets. And whatever messes to cleanup on return, which is likely to include animal destruction. This is what it is. And it needs to be done. If there is anyone out there, who can help cover for such real efforts, to have critical conversations about policy and peaceful change, who wants nutrition in the soil to feed the nutrition that becomes our lives, I would love to know you. Sometimes, despite the fact that I want to do it all alone, I can’t. I need help, and am not good at asking.

    Thank you for making it al possible.

    Reply

    • Thank you Nanne for being one of us who “does the work” both as an activist and as a farmer. I quote you often from your remarks at the FSMA hearing in Augusta your “poisoning your neighbors is a poor business model” meme! Have good travels to the Summit. Let them know we are doing very good work here in Maine!

      Reply

    • Nanne, Brian Jones just asked me if I went to this Food Summit he is looking for feedback about how it went if you have time to give him a call or send him an email. Thanks!

      Reply

  2. Posted by currants on June 9, 2014 at 9:59 AM

    Just signed up on Common Bound’s list serve–I need to stop finding out about these things after the fact. Thanks for posting on this–I’m sorry I wasn’t checking on your blog more frequently.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 539 other followers

