The Sunday List

Cider Orchard. cider apple tree just before ha...

Image via Wikipedia

As you who are faithful followers of my little blog will have noticed the posts have been a little spotty lately.  This is because we are in the middle of Tree Sale Season at Fedco the worker-owned cooperative that is my winter employment.   So in keeping with this annual spring ritual I thought I would share what fruit and nut trees I grow at my farm:

In the “ancient” orchard (we figure these trees to be between 75 and 100 years old) I have inherited a fairly typical mix for an old farmstead apple orchard:

Duchess of Oldenburg

Macintosh

Red Astrichans

Ben Davis (which we tried to burn down last year but that’s a whole other story)

Pink Angel

A seedling tree that makes great single variety hard cider and which I wanted to name after my kid but he insisted it be named Dragon’s Breath Cider Apple

One other seedling tree that gets added into the cider mix in the fall

I have planted so far:

2 Keepsakes Apples

Dabinett (a cider apple)

Pound Sweet (an apple I hope is going to be the one I remember from my childhood)

Belle de BosKoop (as an ornamental tree in our front yard)

I have holding in my nursery hoping to get planted this year or next:

Staceyville Pear

Dana’s Hovey Pear

Black Oxford Apple

Black Walnut

Carpathian Walnut

And that’s all for now.  Next year is another “Tree Season” and we will see what I end up bringing home to plant then.

Leave a Reply

