Home, Home in the Hood

I have posted about urban farming before.  In fact when I went back to look at that post I said I would be posting more details later about my friend Terra in Buffalo and her exploits in farming inner city land.   Well here it is finally.   She and her Farmer Pirate co-op are doing a Kickstarter campaign to raise the money they need for a dumptruck to make compost.  When you realize that 40% of all food produced/consumed in this country is wasted you realize that there is an embarrassment of riches as far as gathering waste to compost and use on these new urban farms.

As the official Aging Hippie Organic farmer of the Stephanie Miller show I spoke with her on air about sustainable urban farming.  Not high rise hydroponics which are neither feasible or sustainable.   What this group and many others across the country are doing is developing organic, in the ground, sustainable farms on vacant lots and at abandoned house lots.  Feeding inner city populations with healthy, fresh produce.

Hurrah for Terra and her Pirates or should I say Arrrrrrgh!

2 responses to this post.

  1. The computer gremlins are back. I barely got this posted. Sorry for the lack of pictures and links but I just can’t seem to make it happen.

    Reply

  2. Yep, that food waste issue is real. Our local farm encourages us to save our waste for them to plow back into the farm when they drop our CSA. I don’t do that since I compost but I think it’s a great idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

