…and then A Miracle Occurs

SWARM!

SWARM!

This year finances have been a little tight and since none of my hives made it through the winter and I was unable to find a nuc I could afford I was bee-less this spring and into the summer.   And then a miracle occurred.    I was cleaning out my barn for a yard sale and had decided to sell off some of my surplus beehives.    I set them out in the front yard along with the other accoutrements of a yard sale in preparation for the three-day event.    Hot and tired I had lunch and lay down on the couch to read through the heat of the day.

And then I heard it.   “That sounds like a swarm,” I said to myself.    Walking out on the deck of my house…..well here’s the first video I took (you may have to cut and paste it for now or go to my Facebook page to see it, sorry):   https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10201664880567968&set=vb.1358049078&type=2&theater

Ross Conrad in “Natural Beekeeping” says it so eloquently:   “”The confidence the swarm shows in itself and the faith it has in the universe’s ability to provide for its future well-being are inspiring.   Certainly the mother and her daughters do not make the decision to swarm carelessly, typically timing their move to coincide with conditions when the hive is chockfull of bees, honey, pollen, and brood, and there is plenty of nectar still to be gathered.  It makes good sense, after all, to wait until times are plentiful and prosperous before deciding to build a new home and start another family.  However, when compared to human parents, the widowed mother bee shows unparalleled generosity of spirit in her actions.”

July is not the best time for a swarm.   The little ditty goes:  “A swarm in May is worth a load of hay, a swarm in June is worth a silver spoon, but a swarm in July isn’t worth a fly.”   Here I am reciting and debunking that myth (again thanks to FB):   https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10201665209136182&set=vb.1358049078&type=2&theater

So the best part of all of this is that Marta and Heath (two non-bee-fans) were excited and happy for me when they got home and found out about the wondrous occurrence.    Here is Marta’s blog post about it.

I took the leap of faith in quitting my paycheck and the universe keeps telling me again and again I am doing the right thing!!!!   I am truly a blessed woman.

Leave a Reply

