Why I Changed Parties (briefly)

A couple of weeks ago I went to my town office and un-enrolled as a Green Independent here in Maine.   I did it so that I could enroll (briefly) in the Democratic Party and vote for Troy Jackson in the primary on June 10th.  This is so out of character for me that the ladies at the town office asked me twice if I was sure that I wanted to do this.   I am a state party chair emeritus of the Maine Green Independent Party and this just seemed to them to be a strange move on my part.   But I really want to vote for Troy.

I have stood by and watched the Democratic Party in this state shoot itself in the foot again and again over the years.   Remember their lack of support for Jean Hay Bright  (the party recruited someone to run against her in the primary for chrissake) when she ran against an ailing Olympia Snowe?   And Libby Mitchell’s “campaign” for Governor???? Enough said.   I want to vote for Troy because he is a candidate that represents what I want to see in an elected official: someone with a backbone.

I just got done watching the debate between Troy and his opponent on MPBN where his opponent claimed she was supportive of the GMO labeling bill.   And I call Bullshit.  She may have voted for it but if that is all it takes for her to claim supportiveness then the bar is pretty damn low.   And if any of you believe that Troy is the “big money” candidate in this race then you obviously don’t watch network TV.  Wall to wall ads for Troy’s opponent on the 6 o’clock local news.

Anyhow, watch this video of his speech at the Dem’s convention recently.  Ethan Strimling (an institutional Democrat if there ever was one) called it “the best speech I have ever heard at a Maine Democratic convention.” If you don’t tear up watching this then you are the one with a black heart!

 

Oh, I’ll be changing back to the party of my heart (the Greens) as soon as I can.   90 days I think it is.  But this will be worth it, especially if we get Troy to Congress!  So watch this 17 minute video, it will be time well spent.

Leave a Reply

